The Department of Bioengineering and BGA hosted the seventh annual Research Day on Friday, February 16th, 2024. The event brought together students, faculty and staff, industry board members, alumni, and invited guests together from various parts of the world! Research Day featured keynote speakers, a student research talk competition, a poster session and competition, and networking at the Mong Learning Center in Engineering VI. We’d like to thank our industry and alumni guests for participating as guest judges for our lecture and poster competitions, and our keynote speakers for their presentations!

The event began with a brief breakfast buffet before it transitioned into the auditorium for the welcome and opening remarks given by Dr. Song Li and Dr. Dino Di Carlo. After that, the three keynote speakers for this year: Dr. Thomas Rando, Dr. Lili Yang and Dr. Aydogan Ozcan, spoke briefly discussing prevalent research done under their labs. Then after a brief intermission break, began the oral presentations of students: Amaka Enueme, Andrew Ramirez, Ivana Marcia Alves Diniz, KaranDeep Cheema, Yifan Wu, and Zoe Latham. After all the oral presentations were given, attendees and presenters had lunch in the Cohen Room. The poster presentation competition started at 1:00PM, which consisted of 34 different research projects being presented by undergraduate students, graduate students, and postdocs. They were judged by industry guests and faculty judges. BGA tallyed the scores before the closing remarks, raffle, and awarding occurred inside the auditorium.

The winners of the oral presentations were Yifan Wu (1st place), Amaka Enueme (2nd place), and Zoe Lantham (3rd place).

The winners of the graduate poster presentations were Artem Goncharov (1st place) , Alyssa Arnheim (2nd place), Gyeo-Re Han (3rd place), and Youchang Yang (4th place).

The winners of the undergraduate poster presentations were Emily Lin (1st place) and Cara Susilo (2nd place).

This year we included a new award, the People’s Choice Award, which was given to Xiao Han.


See our photo gallery of the event below: